top of page

Chapter 1 (Excerpt)

Chapter 1

I shoved my arms into the tattered sleeves of my dirt brown winter jacket and crouched down to look under the cash register. I yanked my black messenger bag from under the counter and placed it over my shoulder, making sure the strap didn’t touch the tender dark spot between the end of my shoulder blade and the slope of my neck.

“Alright, Will!” I yelled and locked the register. “I’m clocking out now!”

Without waiting for a reply I dropped the register key in the brown cardboard box next to the potato chips and made my way down the isle of junk food. I quickly checked the watch on my wrist and pushed open the glass door.

I have exactly ten minutes before Mr. Neil, my second boss, starts yelling and subtracting the nickels for each second I miss. Pulling the brown straps of the hood further down, I let out a heavy breath and watched the small cloud of mist flutter across my face.

Only six more hours. I reminded myself and quickly crossed the street corner. Just another day of my life. Nothing that’s no new. I sighed and shoved my hands into my pockets.

Left foot. Right foot. I thought as my I hadn’t had a rest since my mother died. Matter of fact I hadn’t had a good night’s rest since my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer five years ago.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
bottom of page